SportPesa boss Karauri wins Kasarani parliamentary seat

Gaming firm SportPesa chief executive Ronald Karauri has won Kasarani parliamentary seat with 32,315 votes against his main competitor John Njoroge who garnered 30,575.

Karauri 44, was issued with a provisional nomination certificate by Constituency Returning Officer Amos Chilai Nyongesa at the Kasarani Stadium on Thursday morning, who said the tally for the position had been concluded.

“The person who carried the day in the Kasarani Constituency Parliament seat is Ronald Karauri who garnered 32,315,” Chilai declared amid cheers by his supporters.

In his victory speech, the MP-elect said he was confident of clinching the Parliament seat from the incumbent Mercy Gakuya who was defending her seat on the Jubilee Party ticket.

Karauri thanked the voters for having faith in him and assured them that he will deliver on the various promises he made during the campaigns.

He thanked the current MP for what he has done in the constituency saying he will pick up from where he has left and called for unity from his contestants and all the constituents saying they can only transform the constituency if they work as a team.

Karauri contested for the seat as an independent candidate after failing to clinch the Jubilee ticket.

In the Members of County Assembly, those who won the electoral posts are Antony Ngaruiya Mburu (Kasarani ward), Mwaura Samora (Claycity ward), Carrington Heho (Njiru ward), Samuel Kago(Mwiki ward) and James Kariuki(Ruai ward).

All the five elected MCAs clinched the seats under UDA party. 

The densely populated constituency covers Kasarani, Githurai, Mwihoko, Mwiki, Njiru, Chokaa, Ruai, Kamulu up to the Nairobi -Machakos county border at Joska.

MG Team

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *